Thursday, 11 September 2014

7th Regiment of Foot - Royal Fusiliers

11th June 1685
The Ordnance Regiment. Raised in the City of London from two companies of Tower Guards as an escort to the train of Artillery. Also known as the Royal Regiment of Fusiliers.
Royal English Fuzileers. Ranked as the 7th Regiment of Foot
1st July 1751
7th Regiment of Foot (Royal Fuzileers)
1st July 1881
The Royal Fusiliers (City of London Regiment). Two regular battalions. Designated as the city regiment of London, also encompassing militia and volunteer infantry.
County of London formed from parts of Kent, Middlesex and Surrey
3rd (Regular) Battalion formed.
4th (Regular) Battalion formed
1st April 1908
The 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th Volunteer Battalions were transferred to the London Regiment and became the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th (City of London Battalions), The London Regiment, upon the creation of the Territorial Force.
7th July 1916
The four Territorial Force battalions mentioned above were re-affiliated to The Royal Fusiliers
The 3rd (Regular) and 4th (Regular) Battalions are disbanded.
23rd April 1968
Amalgamated with the Royal Northumberland Fusiliers, The Royal Warwickshire Fusiliers and the Lancashire Fusiliers to form The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers

No comments: